Weekend Writing Warriors #8sunday Snippet


This is Reagan, one of my Republi-Cats. His mom was Cheney, his dad was Bush, both acquired on Election Day 2004.

This is Reagan, one of my Republi-Cats. His mom was Cheney, his dad was Bush, both acquired on Election Day 2004.

This is my post for the Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop.

 

Killer DNA.

“This is the best research facility ever!” gushed Panto. “Even though it’s in a prison.”

Professor Pamela Stockton looked up from the disorderly and illogical personnel list. Some wag had given her staff designations like ‘lab rat’ for the laboratory workers and ‘psycho’ for the psychology students hired to create useful profiles of their experimental subjects. Pamela suspected Panto, but said nothing of it. She did feel the need to answer Panto’s statement, seeing that the other personnel in the room were looking about warily.

“This is not a prison,” she said. “Merely a first-class research facility with a large secure holding area to accommodate a large number of research subjects who are criminally incarcerated….”

This is from a short story (I think, length may vary) that’s been floating around in my head for a while. It’s from the first draft (started this morning.) The idea is about a researcher who discovers a DNA pattern associated with serial killing, and the consequences if future serial killers could be detected in childhood. Or some such thing. This is still first draft, after all.

 

Finding Friends for My Blog

That’s why I participate in blog hops and other blog events such as Insecure Writers Support Group, Big Dreams Bloghop, Poetry Pantry on Poets United, and the Christian Science Fiction & Fantasy blog tour.

Trying a new blog hop is kind of scary though. You see this long list of blogs and you wonder how many will be simpatico with your blog.

On the Weekend Writing Warrior blog hop I was somewhat inhibited in that the first 6 or so blogs I visited were by ‘erotica’ writers, which I do not feel I can support or promote. But I shall continue slogging down the list.

I don’t know if I’ll continue with the Weekend Writing Warrior blog hop as it’s on the same day as Poetry Pantry, and also because I’m not sure that posting ‘snippets’ is something I’m thrilled with. But I’m going to try it and see what happens.

15 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors #8sunday Snippet

  1. Hi, Anissa,

    Welcome to Weekend Writing Warriors. We’re glad to have you. Your snippet paints an intriguing scene and lays some groundwork for character building. It raises questions in my (the reader’s) mind–and that is a good thing. I’d read more to find answers to some of my questions. The premise sounds like it could be developed into a great story.

    As you scroll through the list, you’ll find 8 sentence snippets from all genres with the exception of children’s. We’re glad to have every one of them participate, and support them all. We love our writers, and think that every genre posted is done by truly talented participants. Variety makes the world go round.

    As you get to know the list, you get an idea of which authors write which genre.

    🙂 Teresa

  2. Hi, Teresa,
    Thanks for your nice words about my very-first-draft snippet, it’s very encouraging. Can’t wait to visit the other blogs on Weekend Writing Warriors and see what they have.

  3. “Clever names” — thanks. I was SO hard up for names I just kind of picked one out of my subconscious (Panto) and used an automatic name generator for the other one until I came up with a name I could live with.

  4. Nissa,
    Welcome to Weekend Writing Warriors. So glad you could join us. 🙂 I’ve on occasion changed my characters names mid story. So names can be tricky for me, too. lol I have a baby book I look at now and again for a name or Google names from the country I may want. Like if my character is Irish, I Google Irish names or surnames.

    Regarding your snippet: Your characters are interesting and premise intriguing if not a wee bit chilling. Can’t wait to read more.

  5. Nice to meet you, and glad you can join us. I find Sunday to be one of my favorite days, and I’ve met some truly talented writers that have become my friends. I’ve gotten some very good advice and some nice ego boosting pats on the back. As to this snippet…I want more. So nicely done, love the story idea, and am wondering how things will proceed.

  6. Welcome to the Weekend Writing Warriors blog hop, Nissa. As Teresa already mentioned, there are diverse writers from different genres here, including fantasy, science fiction, young adult fiction, reality-based fiction, etc. I mostly write memoirs, as you’ve already seen. Thanks for visiting me and I do hope you come back and join us for more. I enjoyed your excerpt and would like to continue reading additional instalments. Panto is a clever name, for sure! 🙂

  7. Your story sounds great. I’d run with it!
    I was raised Catholic. I’m no longer practicing, haven’t in many years. But I find myself curious–you have a Non-Catholic Christian blog roll. Is there something particularly offensive about Catholics as compared to other Christians? I have problems with the church’s outlook, which is why I left, but I try to take each person as they come.
    I’m visiting from the A to Z list. I’m part of a blogging team. We didn’t enter any of our story blogs, because we tend to get too verbose. One of our blogs is Poetry of the Netherworld.
    I’m of two minds about the blog hop thing. I go into it with the hope that maybe someone will enjoy what I’ve created, but I always worry that I’ll have people cutting down what I’ve created, and that’s never good.

  8. Welcome to WWW. Although there’s a lot of romance you’ll also find a few other sci-fi authors in the list. Overall it’s quite a mix.

    As for the snippet, seems like she’s got her work cut out with this Panto character. And her rather defensive answer is just begging the retort, “Like I said, a prison!” 🙂

  9. I’m a Catholic convert. I suppose I have to rename that blogroll. I just hate to have to call the Protestant/Evangelical/Mormon blogroll the ‘Christian’ blogroll as if Catholics weren’t Christians. I’m ambiguous about the blog hop thing also because there are just so many blogs out there that aren’t compatible with me— people of a wide variety of viewpoints are mortally offended by me. As for having strangers critiquing my stuff, I just try to ignore it as I’m one of those writers that DOESN’T benefit from critiques— or lavish praise for that matter.

Leave a Reply

