#PoetryPantry 219: Sackett’s Sijo


Turkish translation book cover for one of L'Amour's Sackett novels.

Turkish translation book cover for one of L’Amour’s Sackett novels.

This is a post for Poetry Pantry #219. Click on the link to find other poets, to look at cool pictures from Slovenia, or to share one of your own blogged poems.

Sackett’s Sijo

My mind a-rambling like wild geese
I took in the river far below
A-thrashing and a-churning
With here and there a deep blue pool.

Then a shot struck me a wallop
Falling I met the clear cold water.

(c) 2013 Nissa Annakindt

This poem came about when I was reading one of Louis L’Amour‘s Western novels, and features one of his most popular characters, William Tell Sackett. I crafted it using words, phrases and images from the opening scenes of one of the Sackett novels.

The sijo, in case you are unfamiliar, is a Korean poetic form somewhat like the Japanese haiku. I rather enjoyed using this Asian poetic form for a decidedly non-Asian subject.

Louis L’Amour, by the way, in addition to being one of the bestselling Western authors of all time, also wrote a volume of poetry, Smoke from This Altar. I have not yet managed to add this volume to my Louis L’Amour collection, but I have found some of his poems online, such as A Handful of Stars.

Publishing Update:

I’m getting close to finishing the e-book version of ‘Where the Opium Cactus Grows’. just have to figure out how to attach a book cover in Scrivener. The second poetry book, ‘Waiting for the Poison Shot’, will follow in a few months after the first. Both will also be available as physical books. I’m also working on an e-book poetry chapbook, ‘surly petunia’, which will be a free e-book. It will be mostly poems from my original ‘surly petunia’ chapbook, which also went in to the original ‘Opium Cactus’, but I’ve put in some that are scheduled to be in ‘Poison Shot’.

Also in the works: a sci-fi serialized story set in a future United States that has become a grim, Soviet-style totalitarian state where faith is forbidden and vast numbers of people live on the streets or in robot-patrolled govt Shelters.

If you want to be notified when these books are available, join my new mailing list: http://eepurl.com/FN2hr

Reviews: I may be willing to do reviews of poetry books if the poet will provide me with a review copy. I won’t review erotic or ‘naughty’ material as I don’t read that type of thing. So if you have a poetry book out….

18 thoughts on “#PoetryPantry 219: Sackett’s Sijo

  1. Really, though I have known of Louis L’Amour forever, I have never read any of his novels. I like the way you brought your sijo to a decisive conclusion. It hit me hard!

  2. i’m encountered the sijo before, the music in your words gives credit to the form; have a nice Sunday

    much love…

  3. A lot of people don’t know about sijo, I didn’t until I watched a Korean drama about a woman poet, Hwang Jini. But now it’s a favorite poetic form of mine. It is short and simple, but less difficult to write than the Japanese haiku.

  4. Like Bjorn, I enjoyed the fusion of form and subject matter – “wallop” – lovely word! Great last line also…

Leave a Reply

