Friday Update June 19th


0619150741This is a post for the Birth of a Novel blog hop.

My writing week:

Pretty good. On Monday I submitted poems to a poetry magazine, something I haven’t done since last fall. I wrote poems every morning from Monday to Thursday. I also finished a short story I had been working on a couple of months ago.

This last was quite a surprise to me. I’ve had severe struggles with writer’s block which have lead to me not being able to finish novels or short stories.

What is different this time is that I have been working to accept myself as a successful poet rather than seeing myself as a failed novelist and short story writer. Somehow that made a difference.

In other news, my mama cat Umberto decided yesterday it was time to move her kitten. The new home she chose for baby girl kitten Norbert was my favorite chair— a recliner which I also sleep in at night. So I woke up this morning to find Umberto nursing her kitten on my chest. That’s what happens when you have a mama’s baby cat who loves to hang out with her person, and that cat has a baby. She’s torn between staying with baby and getting attention from her person. (She went into labor on my lap, but I persuaded her to move to the kitten box by the time she actually gave birth.)

birth of a novel

2 thoughts on “Friday Update June 19th

  1. LOL, got to love Kitty’s personality. At least she wants your love, right?

    Congrats on the submissions, but even more on accepting the positive aspects of your writing life. Sometimes all we need is to believe in ourselves to get past the obstacles we think are in our way.

  2. I’m beginning to think kitty’s annoyed that I named her Umberto and her girl baby Norbert— but, hey, Norbert the dragon in Harry Potter turned out to be a girl dragon.

Leave a Reply

