Celebrate The Small Things: SP Anthology


Celebrate blog hop

The small thing I’m celebrating today is that I got up the courage to volunteer to write a story for an anthology called No Award, a science fiction and fantasy anthology for supporters of Sad Puppies, which is an attempt to push for a more diverse set of authors getting recognized by the Hugo Awards.

I don’t normally volunteer to write stories for anthologies. I don’t normally know about anthologies I could possibly write stories for. But this time, since I’m now a member of an online writers group for conservative and/or libertarian writers, I found out about this one.

I even mentioned the idea I had for the anthology story. It will be set in the not-too-distant future and center around a scientific discovery— a gene that causes homosexual orientation. And the social fall-out as gay people discover they are biologically straight, and straight people discover they are biologically gay. A situation made hellish by an intrusive government which keeps DNA records on all citizens and which also requires that one-tenth of government jobs be filled by licensed and registered homosexuals.

Anyway, I mentioned a bit about my idea and a couple of group members told me to go for it. And since they are group members I respect, that’s really encouraging to me.

I know I have no guarantee that my short story will get published in the anthology. But I feel optimistic that I could come up with something well-written. And since I’m a gay woman I add diversity to the anthology— not that this ought to be a major consideration.

My life has been a history of writing attempts failed due to either writer’s block or writing avoidance. I think I may have a handle now on improving that, but it’s a little fragile at the moment. I’m going to be starting the story this morning, and I hope my writing day goes well.

If you are a writer, how is your writing life going? Any new projects you are feeling enthusiastic about? Or is your writing energy waning lately?

 

This is a post in the Celebrate the Small Things blog hop.

3 thoughts on “Celebrate The Small Things: SP Anthology

  1. Good luck for your writing story. I’ve just read Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott – definitely a must read for aspiring writers. Full of not only useful tips but also just giving inspiration to keep at it. Have a good writing day.

  2. I think your story idea sounds great! And yes, all facets of the publishing world should try to feature more diverse characters and ideas. Wishing you good luck with it and have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  3. Thought I’d pop over on the blog hop to say hello and add my congratulations on your enterprise. I am in awe of all writers and their creativity and the more I get to know about your craft and all the hard work you have to put in to get anything actually published the more in awe I get!! Wishing you every success with your great story idea and have a super weekend 🙂 Special Teaching at Pempi’s Palace

Leave a Reply

