September 11th Anniversary: Not a Small Thing


world-trade-center_1986818cToday is a day which will forever live in infamy, like Dec. 7th, 1941 (attack on Pearl Harbor.) Many in the media don’t want us to remember this day. They won’t show us images of that day for political reasons.

But it’s just the things that the mainstream media want us to forget that we need to remember. Americans tend to be in an isolated bubble when it comes to events in foreign countries. In 1941, most Americans thought that the news from Europe and Asia was sad, and that the dictators of Japan, Germany and Italy were bad men. But they didn’t think it could touch them until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.

In the same way, Americans in 2001 thought that events in the Middle East were sad, and the terror organizations in operation, from the PLO to the new Al Queda, were a bad thing. But who on September 10th ever thought it could hit home in such a big way?

The world is becoming an ever more dangerous place, but our national leaders say ‘peace, peace, peace’ when there is no peace, and when saying ‘peace’ is only increasing the chance of war. The genocide against Christians by ISIS and Boko Haram is all but ignored, and even the flood of refugees in Europe is only a news story until Donald Trump’s next shockingly uncivil Tweet.

It’s not enough to stop and say ‘how sad’ about the September 11th victims. We must, each of us, make a daily effort to know what is really going on in the world that the mainstream media doesn’t want to bother us with. It’s our duty to know. And we need to pressure our political representatives, the President, and the various presidential candidates to do something about the refugees, about ISIS, and about keeping our country safe in ways that don’t take away our freedoms.

1312166841

CELEBRATE THE SMALL THINGS blog hop

Today is a very serious occasion, but it’s still a good time to thank the Lord for the good small things that are going on. For me, I am celebrating the return of my therapist, John Lindt, to work after a few months off when he and his wife were in a serious car accident.

I had my first appointment in months yesterday, and John seemed pleased with some of the progress I’d made in his absence– I’d finished a short story, which I hadn’t done since I’ve known him, and I became involved with the Legion of Mary at my church and did some evangelization home visits with some nuns who came to our parish.

We also touched on the existential horror of my house with its electrical, plumbing and hot water heater problems. John seemed to think that I would find a way to get all these problems fixed. I’m not sure I share his confidence— I’m afraid I may be stuck with no hot water and no working stove for the rest of my life— but it’s nice to know someone thinks there is a solution to my problems in this area.

Believe it or not, this is a post in the Celebrate the Small Things blog hop. It takes place on Fridays and is a good way to get some more readership for your blog.

QUESTIONS:

Where were you on September 11th, 2001? What do you remember most about that day? Do you think America has learned something about the importance of overseas events from September 11th? Are we more likely or less likely to experience *Islamist terrorism again in the US?

*Islamist terrorism: Terrorism perpetrated by terrorists who are Muslims (or claim to be.) These terrorists may be operating under beliefs rejected by mainstream Islam, and non-terrorist/Islamist Muslims are not to be blamed for the deeds of Islamists.

5 thoughts on “September 11th Anniversary: Not a Small Thing

  1. I was taking care of my sick niece that morning. She stayed home from school. My sister called from he office in downtown Wilmington, DE to ask if I had heard about a crash in NYC. I turned on CNN just in time to see the 2nd plane hit the tower. I had never heard of Al Quada or Bin Laden before that day. I was completely uninformed.

    For the next 3 months I was glued to the Cable news tickers. It was a pivotal moment in my life, one I will never, ever forget. We should never be as uninformed as I was in my complacency.

  2. I was at home with my kids when I saw on TV the towers fall. I’ll never forget it. I’d never seen anything so horrible in my life and was as shocked as everyone that it could happen here. We as a country need to remain vigilant and focused to combat the terrorists and prevent anything like that from ever happening here again.

  3. It is nice to hear you talk about your John, having someone to believe in you is wonderful.
    Where was I on 9/11? In Germany the middle of grocery shopping when they announced what happened over the loud speaker and everyone froze. My hometown has a pedestrian only road called “Road of Human Rights” and we – amongst many – turned it into a makeshift shrine that day. A breathless moment in time.

  4. I was overseas at the time and was touched how the people felt for us. It shook them almost as much as it did America, and it was nice to see that this empathy exists. And glad to hear you made progress! As to the stove and electricity… I’m sure you can get the worked out (even if it takes a little longer).

  5. Nothing’s going to change if we don’t do anything besides moan and groan over the miserable state of the world (said as someone who needs to get off her butt and do more about it).

    Good thing your therapist is okay

Leave a Reply

