After Zombie Apocalypse; Writing Avoidance Trick


glennTWD

Aren’t you glad I didn’t use an image of what happened to Glenn afterward?

Ten years after the beginning of the zombie apocalypse….

I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately in connection with my zombie apocalypse novel/series. I’ve been having a bit of trouble figuring out at what point in time to start the story, and am considering a point ten years after the epidemic hits and goes global.

This would mean that my main character who is age nine in the first novel would have been born after the epidemic. Which I think would work. But her sister, also a major character, at age 17 or 18 would not have had strong memories of the old world, and it’s important that she be disaffected from the family’s values and faith. Perhaps a neighbor who shares the ideology of the political ‘opposition’ and has a library of corrupting books…. Will have to work on that today.

I think the ten year point gives me a place to explore some of the issues I want to explore, such as the economic and social collapse, the conflict between urban progressive and rural dissident, and the struggle of people to cope with the changes in their material lifestyle….

What about you? If there is a ‘you’ reading this blog today. Have you ever had to figure out at what point to begin your story? How did you solve the issue?

A trick to deal with writing avoidance

Recently I read, in one of my how-to-write books, a recommendation that writers have problems working every day should set themselves a goal— either write a minimum of 250 words on their novel/project or write 250 words on the reasons you didn’t write that day.

This requires that you at least go on your computer and open up your word processor, Scrivener or YWriter file. Since I personally don’t want to encourage myself to go with the write-an-excuse option, I created a file in Scrivener called ‘work records’ and I either write my excuse at 250 words, or write a brief note about the work I did that day.

If your problem is blogging avoidance, perhaps you can make yourself go online and open up your blogging dashboard and then write an ‘excuse’ post. Or some light post about your cat not wanting to wear a sweater. Just something, to keep your blogging going.

Traditionally I reward myself for working on my project by writing a ‘W’ on my wall calendar for that day. I think if I go the excuse route I will use a ‘w’ (for ‘wrote an excuse’).ย  Perhaps I will use a ‘w‘ to indicate days when I did not write on the text of the project but wrote down some plot ideas or did reorganizing on the Scrivener project. Anything to build up a write-every-day habit….

3 thoughts on “After Zombie Apocalypse; Writing Avoidance Trick

  1. Great that you are writing a series! Sounds so interesting. I will definitely read it.

    I haven’t had trouble deciding when to start the timeline of my books… they simply ended up in the near future because I’m telling the dystopia almost in real time. In fact, I can’t seem to keep up. Some things have already happened. This can be problematic in itself, but book 3 is halfway written according to my structure/outline, so I’m sticking to it & perhaps, if needed, changing one or two things to reflect current events of this past year.

    Writing avoidance! This is exactly what I needed to rad today. I am paralyzed right now because of the Paris attacks and all of the other darkness in the world. I can’t work on my book right now. I already blogged, though, and maybe I feel well enough later to write in my WIP ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great post!

  2. I haven’t done much writing but have fiddled in my Scrivener file and written my daily excuse yesterday. In my series, it’s vague-near-future, but far enough out that new political parties have developed, the Rosa party and the Amber party. My timeline is based by time since the beginning of the global zombie epidemic, and the ages of the characters. My MC is age nine as the story begins.

    I love your series, a lot, and would be re-reading it right now but I don’t have it on my new kindle and can’t put it on until I go to the library, because that’s the nearest place with wi-fi. Kindles are NOT designed with rural folk in mind.

  3. Thanks! Glad you like my books ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yours sound very, very interesting. I like the premise. I was chatting with Kia yesterday. We came to the conclusion that many of us are writing dystopias simply because of our knowledge of what is coming, combined with the mind of a creative person. It’s like our brains keep showing us the end result, and that’s what ends up in our books, even her book about a cat.

    I will be an eager reader of your books.

Leave a Reply

