IWSG: Why Aren’t You Writing? Right Now?


InsecureWritersSupportGroup2Recently I signed up for a mini-course by Christian author Jerry B. Jenkins, author of more than 185 books. Today’s lesson was about finding time to write. The objections Mr. Jenkins expects include the following: ‘if only I had better equipment….’

I’ve fallen into that one a lot over the years. First I needed to drop the typewriter and get one of those newfangled word processing machines. Which helped in my early poetry life in that I could just print out two copies of each poem instead of resorting to carbon paper or typing a second copy (so I would have one copy to submit and one for my files.)

Later I ‘needed’  a personal computer, a better personal computer, internet access, several iterations of writing software…..

But, really, I could have gotten by with a lot less. It was mostly my mind’s way of delaying the time when I really faced the challenge of being a writer. Delaying the time at which I might find myself a failed wannabe writer instead of the real thing.

But, the thing is, a writer is one who WRITES. Not one who talks about writing. Not one who imagines good story ideas in their heads. One who sits down with fingers and keyboard or pen and paper and writes. Why aren’t you doing that right now?

Why am I not doing that right now? Well, at the moment I’m blogging in my much-neglected blog that was started as a method to build up an audience for my books (I have two poetry books out, one in paper, one an e-chapbook that is available here: http://www.amazon.com/Surly-Petunia-Nissa-Annakindt-ebook/dp/B00NZ96EYE)

Blogging is a kind of writing, too. For the past week or so, I’ve been blogging close to daily and that loosens up those writing muscles in your head. I’m hoping it will get me back to my former habit of writing a daily poem which I haven’t done for a couple of months. Which in turn leads to better and more frequent prose writing.

For me, I find that poetry writing precedes attempts at fiction.  A couple of decades back when I first became serious about my writing, I spent 2-3 years writing hundreds of poems and submitting them to small poetry magazines. And then one day I sat down and wrote a sci-fi short story which I also submitted somewhere, and got a personal rejection note instead of a form.

For you, it will be different. Each writer’s mind works differently. Perhaps you need a writing ritual that involves giving up social media and blogging for a week when starting a new project. Perhaps you need to read a poem every morning before starting your writing work. We are not all the same. You need to see what works for you.

There is a well-known writer, author of a great many books, who for years had a stressful full time job. She came home from the job, tended her children for a few hours, and when they went to bed she put in 3 or 4 hours of writing before going to bed. That’s what worked for her. But I couldn’t do that, especially now. As I get older I find that my brain is just not up to the writing game late at night. It’s really not up to much more than watching Dexter reruns at that hour.

Have you been a writer today? A blogger? A poet? If not now, when? The more you delay the beginning of your writing day, the more possible it is you won’t do it at all today. And if you don’t write today, you are not a writer. Today, anyway.

So, therefore…. Aw, heck with it. This blog post is done enough, and I got a poem in me that isn’t going to write itself. Goodbye, and see you next time.

This blog post is part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group blog hop. If you are a blogger, join up. It gives you a lot of other blogs to visit and is likely to get you a new visitor or two to your own.



 

The Bible-Quran Challenge is Coming!

yes, I’m being mysterious

8 thoughts on “IWSG: Why Aren’t You Writing? Right Now?

  1. I’ve been a writer for a long time. Thank you for helping me to remember that. Sometimes I wonder if life would be easier if I was a noted scientist, a baker, a gift wrapper, or maybe a member of the traveling circle. Somehow I doubt it. The fact you write poetry is wonderful. Poets are our gift to the universe.

  2. It’s hard- so true. I’ve basically wanted to be a writer for 40 years, but only recently actually started writing! I didn’t even journal, and I wish I had. But now I’ve been going at it solidly for a few years, on and off, but so much more consistently. Thanks for the extra inspiration! And for stopping by my blog.

  3. I have been a writer pretty much forever and I have been longing to get back to my poetry roots. Good luck with your goals, keep moving forward!

  4. Good reminder that ANY writing we do is writing. Keeping up the blog doesn’t get my novel written, but it does keep my mind in “writing mode.” And I kind of like the idea of starting each day with a poem…may try that!
    Rebecca at The Ninja Librarian

  5. I loved every bit of this post, Thank you so much for sharing. I just recently started writing again (kept letting self-doubt take over) and I plan on sticking to it this time.

  6. Early on, I had to share a computer with my husband. That did make life difficult at times, because I could only write in the daytime hours. I remember someone saying how I needed to have my own computer, but I did make it work at the time. Now I have other things, like homeschooling and work, that get in the way, but I still have to carve out time and make sure I get some writing done (even if it’s a short bit) before I do social media or Netflix. 🙂

  7. I switch between different types of writing, but I find it easier to stick to one (two tops) at a time. Writing poetry, flash, and short stories definitely helps me improve for longer stuff.

Leave a Reply

