Recipe: Nut-Flax Hot Cereal – Low-Carb, Keto


It’s the new year, and a lot of people have started new diet plans. But too many dieters haven’t discovered the low-carb and ketogenic diets, which actually have loads of scientific backing. Plus, these diets are good for our brains. Writers need healthy brains.

Here is a breakfast recipe that is easy to prepare, even in the morning.

Nut-Flax Hot Cereal

This is a cereal that you can assemble ahead of time. Start out by getting 3 to 6 containers. You can use disposable plastic storage bags. Or you can buy a dozen Ball brand 1/2 cup jelly jars. If you can’t find the 1/2 cup (they are not easy to find, buy online) you can use 1/2 pint jars (1 cup). Or you can use small plastic containers.

In each container, put:

1 1/2 T(ablespoon) ground nuts (nut meal), pecan, walnut or almond

1 1/2 T shredded coconut meat, UNSWEETENED!!! (They carry it at my local Walmart)

1 T (or 1/2 T) ground flaxseed meal.

1/2 T chia seed (optional)

1/4 t(easpoon) sea salt

Put the lid on your containers and put away in a kitchen cabinet.

To make a serving of cereal, get out a suitable small cereal bowl, and empty the contents of one container into it. ADD one thin pat of butter.

Put on your teakettle and get some boiling water. Add 1/3 to 1/2 cup of the boiling water to your cereal bowl. Make sure that the pat of butter gets hit by the hot water. Let the cereal sit 1-2 minutes. Add 1-2 Tablespoons heavy whipping cream. If you want a sweet taste in  your cereal, add a bit of liquid or powdered stevia sweetener. If you buy English Toffee flavored liquid stevia, it gives the cereal a bit of brown sugar flavor. Add a pinch of cinnamon to it for a real taste treat.

The flaxseed meal is very good for you— but it does add a slippery texture to the cereal. Which is why you can cut the amount to 1/2 T. Or less, if you have a low-carb eater in the family that is fussy about this. But I’ve learned to put up with the weird texture of the full 1 T amount, and I like it just fine that way.

This recipe is based on Dana Carpender’s Hot “Cereal” recipe in her Fat Fast Cookbook. I’ve just added some butter and chia seeds and the make-ahead concept. Which is a natural since it is just as easy to prepare 6 servings as it is the single serving in the original recipe.

The one hard thing about the low-carb and/or ketogenic lifestyle is that it requires a lot of cooking, which leads to a lot of dishwashing. Which is something I can’t always face in the morning. So I make cereal ahead of time, and then I always have some acceptable food that I can prepare with very little effort.


Low-Carb & Ketogenic diets are DIFFERENT

Low-fat and calorie counting diets are temporary diets
Low-carb and ketogenic diets are ones you follow for life

In low-fat and calorie counting diets, feeling hungry is GOOD.
In low-carb and ketogenic diets, feeling hungry means you need to EAT some low-carb/ketogenic foods

In low-fat and calorie counting diets, you eat whole grain toast without butter.
In low-carb and ketogenic diets, you eat the butter but not the toast.

In low-fat and calorie counting diets you are urged to eat a lot of sugar-filled fruits.
In low-carb and ketogenic diets, fruit is something you avoid. You eat non-starch veggies instead.

In low-fat and calorie counting diets the goal is to cut down on what you eat.
In low-carb and ketogenic diets, the goal is to change over your metabolism to one that runs by burning fat.



 

Coconut_Bev_UnsweetenedIf you wish to avoid dairy and don’t like canned coconut milk, So Delicious Coconut Milk  beverage is a tasty substitute. The green carton is the unsweetened one.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Nut-Flax Hot Cereal – Low-Carb, Keto

  1. Is this filling? It sounds good except for the dairy part and the coconut. I can’t eat dairy of any kind and I really don’t like coconut. Is there something I could substitute that would keep it keto?

  2. You don’t really need the cream, you can substitute coconut milk or else just add a bit of melted butter or coconut oil to give it a bit more healthy fat. I don’t really know how to substitute for the unsweetened coconut, but I had another low-carb but less ketogenic recipe that allowed oat bran, maybe that could sub for the coconut.

    I had some of the cereal this morning. Very filling. And I flavored it with 1 t cocoa and 1 packet Truvia type stevia sweetener. Way better than the old Co-co Wheats cereal. It doesn’t really taste that much like it has coconut in it.

  3. hmm maybe I will give coconut another try. I’ve just never liked it or coconut oil. but the rest sounds tasty. 🙂 Thank you for the suggestions/substitutions! It makes eating healthy a challenge when you have to cut out all dairy–including butter– (it makes me very sick) and you can’t stand nut milks. I’ve tried to like nut milks but I just can’t get into them. Can’t eat gluten either which is why I like this recipe. I’m nut trying to find a grain equivalent, just a dairy analog.

  4. I’ve edited the post so I could put in a picture of a Coconut Milk beverage that I like. It is nothing like canned coconut milk. I’ve always been a big milk drinker until I had to go low-carb and I really liked this fake milk. I bought it at my local Walmart. Haven’t had it in a long while because I can tolerate dairy and use a lot of cream and diluted cream.

Leave a Reply

