It pays to believe in yourself as a poet or writer


NissaWnameOnce you have decided that you will do whatever it takes to become a real poet and/or writer, it is your job to start thinking of yourself that way. I mean, when people ask you what you are, FIRST say ‘poet’ (or ‘writer’ or ‘novelist’,) and only after think to say ‘Walmart clerk’ or ‘Catholic’ or ‘Republican’ or whatever the person was really asking about.

Perhaps because of my Asperger’s Syndrome, my self-image as writer is all too easily crushed. One little hint that I’m only a wannabe and my subconscious mind surrenders and admits that it’s true. Only it isn’t. Determined and persistent people who work at being writers become writers.

You assignment for today: find a touchstone or two in your past life that will help you when you are tempted to demote yourself to ‘wannabe.’ Perhaps it’s a time from your school days when something you wrote was praised. Or perhaps you’ve had a short story or a poem published. Or it may even be that you once got a very nice rejection letter that wished good things for you and your writing even though the editor couldn’t use it….

This will give you something to fall back on when they hard times come and people seem determined to convince you that you can’t write your way out of a paper bag if your life and the fate of the known galaxy depended on it.


Celebrate:

Celebrate blog hopOh, heck, it’s Friday. And I do have some things to celebrate. One, the editor of ‘scifaikuest’ invited me to write an article on the sijo, a form of poem from Korea.

And my cat Charybdis had a blessed event yesterday. Four kittens. Then I checked them at bedtime and it was five. Then I checked in the morning and we were up to six. I told Charybdis that she was getting a little too damn blessed.

To sign up for the Celebrate the Small Things blog hop, sign up here: http://lexacain.blogspot.com/2015/01/celebrate-small-things.html


Email Newsletter:

I’m starting an email newsletter which will be coming out once or twice a month with exclusive information on the world of writing in general and the world of Aspie-writers in particular. The sign-up is at http://eepurl.com/FN2hr

4 thoughts on “It pays to believe in yourself as a poet or writer

  1. You have a very good attitude that I wish i had. I avoid telling people I’m a writer. If I do they ask me things like: “Have you written any bestsellers?” “Any books made into movies?” “How much have you made?” Since the answer to those is no, they give me the stink-eye, like I was a liar to say I was a writer. Big congrats on being asked to write the sijo article! I laughed at your joke about 6 kittens being too blessed! LOL!!

  2. I love your attitude. I tend to flip flop on myself depending on how I’m feeling on any given day when it comes to calling myself a writer. I know, I know… Sometimes I blame depression, but I think a lot of it has to do with my own insecurities.

    Congrats on the kittens! I haven’t had cats in years, but I have a spoiled rotten Lhasa Apso that has me wrapped around her little paw. Enjoy your weekend! Hugs.

  3. I suppose it is easier for me to call myself a poet/writer because it’s more socially respectable than saying ‘unemployed bum with Asperger Syndrome.’ 😉 But when I believe in myself as poet, I write better stuff.

    I checked on the kittens this morning and there are still only 6 of them. The mother, a young cat, had a litter of five earlier in the year and she could not take care of them, they all died in spite of my attempts to feed them artificially. This time mama knows what she’s doing and the kittens all are being fed.

  4. I loved your post as I’m at the same stage of writer wannabe but hey we write our blogs so we are writers. I’m going to start describing myself as a writer from now on as you suggest!

Leave a Reply

