Celebrate the Small Things; new books


Celebrate blog hopThis is a post in the Celebrate the Small Things blog hop. Join us at: http://lexacain.blogspot.com/2015/01/celebrate-small-things.html

Today I am celebrating two new books I read recently. The first is one in the Elemental Masters series by Mercedes Lackey, Unnatural Issue. These books are a series of fantasy-romance novels set in Edwardian England. The first in the series was rather ruined for me because the heroine, a female doctor, had a clinic to hand out quack birth control to prostitutes and other loose women, and there was a certain hint that the doc may have done illegal abortions as well.

The current book in the series doesn’t feature hints at prenatal child killing, but there are the usual Neopagan/Wiccan elements, so I wouldn’t recommend it to readers under 21. The heroine of the story is a girl, daughter of a Earth-element mage, whose mother died at her birth and whose dad handed the child over to the servants with orders that he never see the child again. The girl, Susanne, was raised by the servants and worked as one. Until she grew up and Dad, who had turned to the forbidden art of necromancy, saw she was the very image of her dead mother— and just what he needed for his planned spell to bring his dead wife back to life. Susanne has to flee and runs in to the elemental mages who are tracking down her dad because he’s working forbidden necromancy. The story ends, after much thrilling struggle, with the defeat of the evil mage and a romantic attachment for Susanne.

The other book is one I ordered as part of my current studies on the subject of Islam. ‘The Complete Infidel’s Guide to the Koran’ by Robert Spencer. It’s not so much a religious studies book as a current affairs one, showing why, in the author’s opinion, the Koran and its contents are quite relevant to much that is going on in our world today. I would recommend reading it as part of a reading program that includes other books on Islam by other authors and from other points of view.

Other News

My young tomcat Simon is resting in the house today. He’s got an infected sore, probably from being the victim of tomcat-on-tomcat violence. He really likes the attention he gets being in the house by himself instead of being on the porch with the other cats— most of whom stay on the porch all winter rather than in the barn like good barncats. Because the porch leads to the basement, which has a furnace.

And today I’m finally making the lentil-sprout soup I’d planned for some days now.  I had to put the finished sprouts in the refrigerator for a few days, taking it out some days to rinse the sprouts and keep them alive. Today I finally decided to get the soup started.

4 thoughts on “Celebrate the Small Things; new books

  1. That elemental fantasy sounds very good. My personal opinion of Islam is it’s a lot closer to the old testament and the Torah than most people think. I’m glad you’re expanding your knowledge. I hope Simon gets well soon. My husband made lentil soup yesterday. It’s yummy!

  2. The elemental fantasy does sound good! So sorry to hear about your cat. May he be back on the prowl soon! My husband loves lentil soup…maybe I should make him a pot too.

  3. The book about necromancy sounds good to me. I worry about my indoor/outdoor cat. He has gotten into a fight with a stray we are feeding and lost a bit of his ear. I know I shouldn’t encourage the other stray with food, but I feel so bad for this other cat I can’t help myself.

  4. Tamara, is your cat neutered? That cuts down on the fights he will get in. My Simon isn’t neutered yet, but he’s on the list. Behind the tomcats that pee all over the house to mark their territory, though. As for the stray cat, I’ve been known to feed stray cats as well. In fact, since I have a large cat food feeder on my porch, any stray who walks through the cat door could get a meal though right now I haven’t noticed any cats that aren’t mine.

Leave a Reply

