Time to shop for composition books


Like other writers I tend to use composition books for outlining and planning my fiction. It just feels different to sit down with pen and paper to write.

The problem with composition books is that during most of the year it is hard to get the kind you like. I prefer colorful books so I can easily tell one from another. And if I can get it, I prefer college ruled over wide ruled.

During the back to school shopping season, there are a lot of composition books available at good prices. I got some at Walmart for 50 cents each. I got some prettier ones for $1 each.

I stock up on composition books during back-to-school shopping season. When the season is over the prices are higher and the selection is down, down, down.

I also like to use gel pens when I write by hand. I prefer different colors of pens, particularly purple. These are a little harder to get at a good price. Most colorful gel pens are sold in an assortment that includes useless colors like pale yellows and pinks— too hard to use for anything I want to be able to read later.

Each writer has certain writing supplies that mean far more to him that makes good sense. Do you have any special writing items you use to keep the writing going smoothly?

2 thoughts on “Time to shop for composition books

Leave a Reply

