Birth of a Novel blog hop: Friday update


Over at Charity’s Writing Journey they’ve got a Friday blog hop where you update the world on your writing progress and then visit others on the hop. I’m up for that. Because otherwise I’d do nothing all day but look after 10 new kittens from 3 mama cats that have recently appeared in my life (I have barn cats).

My writing: I’m working to accept that I’m primarily a poet, not a novelist. So I’m resolving to write poetry every day and have done so every day this week. I haven’t gotten to it today yet.

I also started a short story and have worked on it for two days. The rough draft is going to be pretty rough, but that’s OK.

I’m also reading more poetry. I’ve joined a group over at Goodreads where we vow to read and review 20 poetry books in a year.

So that’s how my writing is going. Pretty good. Now if only I could close that portal to hell in my basement so the basement floor won’t get so wet….

3 thoughts on “Birth of a Novel blog hop: Friday update

  1. Awesome! Sometimes accepting where our writing style fits is the hardest thing. I have so much respect for poets and short story authors. My mind just doesn’t work that way. I also love the way you talk about your rough drafts. More often than not I beat myself up in the crap phase. I want it to be perfect the first time and have to remember it’s okay for the words to be more of a general “this is the direction we’re heading” than anything else.

    You’ve got a portal to hell in your basement? Now that sounds like a story. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks for joining the hop! Good luck with your goals for the next week. And I think we need cute kitten pictures!

  2. It’s good to know where your writing fits. I can’t write poetry to save my life… I shall look forward to seeing what you get up to. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.